New recipes

Hopothermia Double IPA Review

Hopothermia Double IPA Review


During the Polar Vortex, the Alaskan Brewing Company is stirring up some 8.5 percent ABV trouble

Hopothermia makes the freezing temperatures a touch more tolerable.

It’s cold, y’all. It’s seriously cold outside, and while Accuweather claims that the freezing temperatures are abating, personally, I’ll believe it when I feel it. So a bottle of Hopothermia, the newest year-round release from the Alaskan Brewing Company, feels pretty on the nose.

The beer debuts enshrouded in the mystery of The Lone Brewer, who — Hopothermia legend has it — lived alone in the woods, obsessed with the concept of making the perfect, hoppy Double IPA, his only companions a noble wolf and a lone moose, as he engaged in a battle of wits with some terribly rude mink.

But as much as the cute backstory charms, it's not what makes this beer stand out in the end. This is a big, intense Double IPA — Hopothermia does not disappoint regarding its namesake’s punch. This brew is much more robust than most hoppy beers, balancing its bitterness with a big, rich malt body. The hops are layered, packing a giant wallop of warm citrus with a delicate, floral aroma.

Hopothermia is not a beer for those who are on the fence about IPAs. A "double IPA" is generally one in which — not shockingly — the hops have been doubled, and this one is powerful. So tread lightly if you’re unused to the intensity — and at 8.5 percent ABV, it’s a good idea to take it easy with these anyway — fortunately, this tongue-numbing brew is sold in a four-pack, not a six. But this beer gets my double thumbs up: it’s what you’ll need to stave off the damp, frozen chill that’s seeped into your bones this winter.


Denogginizer Double IPA Drake's Brewing Co.

Protips: Explain why you're giving this rating. Your review must discuss the beer's attributes (look, smell, taste, feel) and your overall impression in order to indicate that you have legitimately tried the beer. Nonconstructive reviews may be removed without notice and action may be taken on your account.

Help Us Be Awesome

Notes: Brace yourself. Denogginizer is a massive Double IPA that's sublimely hopped with an over-the-top dosing of dank, sticky West Coast hops. With just enough malt backbone to keep this big, resinous hop monster in check, don't be afraid to lose your head to the Denogginizer.

4 /5 rDev +1.8%
look: 4 | smell: 4 | taste: 4 | feel: 4 | overall: 4

Poured an orange-tinted gold body (not thick, almost translucent) with minimal head and lace down the glass. The aroma has minimal hop presence and is rather earthy and dirty. Smooth beer in a medium body that balances strong hop bitterness from citric and earthy, oily hops with a thick and semi-sweet maltiness akin to caramel and then finishes full yet crisp with hints of grapefruit.

4 /5 rDev +1.8%
look: 4 | smell: 4 | taste: 4 | feel: 4 | overall: 4

Straight forward DIPA very floral and bitter with pine but balanced and smooth despite the high ABV. Bought is on a whim and even though I probably wouldn't have too many I would probably drink it again.

4.01 /5 rDev +2%
look: 3.75 | smell: 4 | taste: 4 | feel: 4.25 | overall: 4

A: The beer is crystal clear yellow-amber in color and has a moderate amount of visible carbonation. It poured with a quarter finger high off white head. that left a narrow collar around the edge and some large patches of bubbles covering most of the surface.
S: Moderate aromas of piney hops are present in the nose along with some hints of citrusy hops.
T: Like the smell, the taste starts off with lots of flavors of piney hops and associated bitterness. There are some underlying notes of caramel malts and hints of grapefruit citrus.
M: It feels medium-bodied, dank, and very crisp on the palate with a moderate amount of carbonation.
O: This IPA is very dank and bitter. It makes for an interesting change of pace in the world of juicy New England IPAs.

3.69 /5 rDev -6.1%
look: 4.25 | smell: 3.25 | taste: 3.75 | feel: 4 | overall: 3.75

Canned on 7/2/20. 12oz can poured into a tulip. Pours golden with nice clarity and transparency lots of bubbles swirling upwards creamy off-white head that falls slowly leaving great thick retention and sticky lacing. The aromas are on the subtle side. Hints of floral and citrus notes. There's a nice amount of caramel. Lots of crackers and fresh bread. Malts are there. The flavors are pretty straightforward. Orange and grapefruit come through. More floral notes. There's a nice amount of pine. Pine needles, pine sap and pine resin in the mix. More caramel coming through. Subtle spiciness. Nice bitterness. Solid malt backbone. Mild warmth in the finish, but it's not hot or boozy at all. Mouthfeel is full-bodied with moderate carbonation. It's sharp, slightly fluffy and smooth.

This is a solid DIPA. It's definitely a classic, old school and traditional example of the style. It's not flashy or anything super crazy, but it's simply enjoyable and fun to drink. Not bad. I like it.

4.03 /5 rDev +2.5%
look: 4.5 | smell: 4 | taste: 4 | feel: 4 | overall: 4

Had poured from 22-oz. bomber, gift from and split with friend, into juice glass, and had again poured from 12-oz. bottle, label stamped bottled on “06/19/19,” into tulip pint.

Denogginizer is beautiful, resinous, fruity, malty enough, bitter and huge.

3.52 /5 rDev -10.4%
look: 4 | smell: 3.75 | taste: 3.25 | feel: 3.75 | overall: 3.5

Copper filtered with little carbonation and 4 fingers of off white head.

Smells like light tropical fruit, pine, caramel and light malts.

Tastes of light toasted malts, light tropical fruits, white linen and a hint of pine.

Medium body with very little carbonation.

I got this in Redding where I am drinking it Feb 20th, 2019.

3.61 /5 rDev -8.1%
look: 3.5 | smell: 3.75 | taste: 3.5 | feel: 3.5 | overall: 3.75

Denogginizer was recommended from a co-worker, who in fact brought me a bottle. Pours a dark honey color with a 1-finger, off white, sticky looking head that leaves a soapy lacing. The smell is caramel sweetness with orange, peach and grapefruit with a hint of resinous pine. The taste, like many West Coast IPAs, follows the nose, big and bitter with pine but a malty sweet backbone with a fruitiness to it.

3.97 /5 rDev +1%
look: 3 | smell: 3.5 | taste: 4.25 | feel: 4 | overall: 4.25

Bomber. Pours clear gold with a small white head that settles quickly. Aroma is citrus, tropical fruit, pine. Taste is sweet malt, citrus, pine with just a hint of alcohol. Nice balance.

3.75 /5 rDev -4.6%
look: 3.75 | smell: 3.75 | taste: 3.75 | feel: 3.75 | overall: 3.75

Big, old school, west coast, sticky pine resin double pours a clear medium-gold color under a pale tan head a few fingers high in a nonic pint. Big bodied with chewy caramel impressions, and a sticky shellac of pine cut by caramel-coated citrus rinds and peels. smooth and soft, full, round mouthfeel. A real throwback, and perhaps not what I'm digging the most these days - I do buy into the NEIPA scene, and even in a high abv double, I prefer something a little leaner and cleaner feeling - but that's just me - if you're feeling like a big, dank resinous high abv beer, this is a winner. 10/10/18 canning.

4.38 /5 rDev +11.5%
look: 4 | smell: 4 | taste: 4.5 | feel: 4.75 | overall: 4.5

Goes down easy like a cheap watered down beer, but with a great taste, and goes down fairly smooth. My only complaint really, is that I wish it had more of that pine flavor, that is my absolute must have when it comes to any IPA. As for effects, whether you sip it or chug it, after one 12oz bottle, you're good dude. Regardless if you like IPAs, Double IPAs , or triple, I highly recommend picking some of this up.

3.84 /5 rDev -2.3%
look: 4 | smell: 5 | taste: 3 | feel: 4 | overall: 4

Appearance: Clear light Amber color with few bottles.

Smell: More floral notes but also a bit of bitterness.

Taste: It is quite bitter and opens up to more citrus notes.

Overall: I usually don't do IPA since they are bitter but I figured it was worth a shot. It's not bad as an IPA and made me enjoy an IPA, compared to other stuff I've tried earlier.

4.03 /5 rDev +2.5%
look: 4 | smell: 4 | taste: 4 | feel: 4.25 | overall: 4

Bottled 5/4/18, consumed 6/2/18

Poured mostly clear amber with a small head that left a small amount of lacing.

Aroma is a nice mix of citrus fruit with piney, grassy, danky & earthy hops, fainter notes of sweet malt.

Taste follows aroma, nice all around balance.

Feel is medium, pretty easy considering the ABV level, good carbonation, probably the strongest aspect.

Overall a very nice, very strong all-around everyday DIPA. Name ain't joking if you have a few of these. Pretty easy to see why this is an everyday pickup for a lot of heavy brew drinkers out West here.

4.04 /5 rDev +2.8%
look: 4 | smell: 4.25 | taste: 4 | feel: 3.75 | overall: 4

This is an exceptional beer, the hops can be overwhelming, but nothing to discourage you from tasting it. The beer has a light head nothing much here the color is a hazy Orange. The aroma is awesome smeels like orange with grapefruit. The taste is very powerful in hops the alcohol comes in as a kick. Pick this beer up if you get a chance worth every penny.

3.93 /5 rDev 0%
look: 3.75 | smell: 3.75 | taste: 4 | feel: 4 | overall: 4

Served in a snifter glass from the bottle.

Appearance: Clear dark Amber color with medium bubbles on the body creating an off-white head rising at a full finger's length after a hard pour.

Smell: Bitter bread scent, has a floral feel which is light and the grapefruit is there dissipates a bit quickly.

Taste: First off it's quite bitter. Second it's a notch sweet, almost like sweet pink grapefruit and touch of honey but when the malts kick in, now you're talking. The citrus zing that carries with heavy bitterness is one to really like.

Mouth: Sticky brew, little dry and has a woody but finish almost like it was barrel aged.

Overall: Very good brew, not the best IIPA you will ever have. but considering how easy it is to get and still satisfied plus the price was accomadable. Always in a glass, Salud!

4.3 /5 rDev +9.4%
look: 4.25 | smell: 4.25 | taste: 4.5 | feel: 3.75 | overall: 4.25

I signed up for Tavour a couple/few months ago & their service has really been bringing the west coast beers to this east coast imbiber! Man, my last shipment comprised two (2) boxes! I brought several bombers with me to Allentown last weekend, but my traveling companion was more into Stouts & Porters so I brought me big DIPAs home for another time. On another digression, I was stationed at NAS Alameda, CA from 1987 to 1989 & I visited Drake's subsequent to that, but San Leandro will always & forever conjure up memories of the beauteous Ann, a fellow sailor with whom I was involved. Those were glorious times! Sigh.

From the bottle: "Brace yourself. Denogginizer is a massive Double IPA that's sublimely hopped with an over-the-top dosing of dank, sticky West Coast hops. With just enough malt backbone to keep this big, resinous hop monster in check, don't be afraid to lose your head to the Denogginizer."

I Pop!ped the cap & began a slow, gentle pour that made the Drake's cousin, Malt Duck, very happy. She squeaked in delight as I performed an in-glass swirl that raised just over two fingers of dense, foamy, tawny head with modest retention. Her awe was evident when I raised the glass to see that the liquid was solid Amber (SRM = > 7, < 9) with NE-quality clarity. She quacked up when I raised the glass to my nose for a whiff & got massive, resinous dank that caused me to pull away out of shock, not unpleasantness. Behind the thick, dense evergreen forest, Simcoe the Kitty was hiding, doing her micturation business out of sight, but not out of smell. I know you're out there, Kitty! Mouthfeel was medium-to-full. The taste was very dank and pine-like, but rather than making the mistake of going with sweet caramel malts, this had an earthy balance to it that amplified the hops while remaining restrained & unobtrusive. I love AIPAs & when ADIPAs came along, I was quick to embrace them. I soon realized that I was wrong-headed in that, like so many beer styles, not all were created equally. Ann, baby, where are you in my time of need? 8=( Finish was dry, but not gasping, more earthy than hoppy, but a very good entry in the style.

3.84 /5 rDev -2.3%
look: 4.25 | smell: 4 | taste: 3.75 | feel: 3.75 | overall: 3.75

Pours a nice fizzy bubbly foamy almost 1 finger head that fades at a med to slower pace, plenty of soapy sticky lacing, mostly clear slight hazy honey tan color

Nose big hops, some citrus, candied orange peel, marmalade, fruity, hops are also spicy, chewy, grassy earthy a bit, and a bit of pine, big sweet candy malts with a bit of alcohol and ester notes

Taste brings big heavy hops again, spicy chewy out front, then big citrus with candied orange zest and marmalade, rind, bit of stone fruit and generic fruit, big sweet candy malts, syrupy, some booze tingle and alcohol flavor, hops are also piney and earthy, pithy as well, and very bitter, finishes sticky a bit, more alcohol lingering, super spicy hop bitterness, a bit of pine and more orange pith.

Mouth is fuller bod, a little sticky, decent carb, a bit astringent, and some warming alcohol

Overall OK but nothing special, a huge heavy DIPA, that's about it.

4.02 /5 rDev +2.3%
look: 4.25 | smell: 4 | taste: 4 | feel: 4 | overall: 4

Bottled 11/15/2017, about 2 months old at this point. This is the freshest I've seen this beer hit the shelves here, so I'll take it for what it's worth. Shouldn't be a huge concern, most hop bombs will hold some semblance of their former selves, at this age.

A - Dark side of orange, with tight, white bubbles more reminiscent of a nitrogenated beer than a carbonated beer. Spotty lacing observed where the liquid has been. A finger's width of head that dissipated into a thin ring, but lasted the drinking course of well over 30 mins.
S - Caramel, concentrated sugars, pine needles, some peach, apricots and grapefruit. I think this one probably lost a majority of its former glory in the last 2 months, and now verges on the border of a barleywine, for the balance between malt and hops.
T -Yep, pretty much follows the smell, although I do get some candied orange peels on the front and mid-palate. Very good. Resinous hops do their bit to counter the malt, but fail to keep it in check for the most part. They do make their presence known towards the end, drying out the palate, preparing for another sip.
M - Fuller side of medium. I think fresh, this beer would have felt about right. But now that the malts are beginning to dominate the hops, it now verges on a hoppy barleywine, in the nicest possible way, than a double ipa.
O - A good beer overall, though I would still have preferred this within the first 30 days of bottling.

3.77 /5 rDev -4.1%
look: 3.5 | smell: 3.25 | taste: 3.75 | feel: 3.75 | overall: 4.5

Pours a golden orange, two finger head, bunch of carb bubbles.
Bitter-sweet and malty. Sloppy-strong.
Crisp and sour. A fruity yet blunt Barley Wine meets DIPA.
Has the initial finesse of a standard malt liquor, if remote memory serves.
A strong malt backbone, flanked by fruit & pine.
Not a bad path, if you enjoy bold use of booze burn! Brutal Embrace!

3.98 /5 rDev +1.3%
look: 4 | smell: 4 | taste: 4 | feel: 3.75 | overall: 4

i love drakes, and am always excited to have new beers from them. this is an interesting one, and a huge one, somewhere between double ipa and american barleywine, it really blurs the line, and i go back and forth on it. there is a lot of malt here, more than is now trendy to use in really hoppy beer, a sturdy crystal, long boiled it seems to me, caramelized and rich, with a lot of body, its a big base, and it takes a lot of hops to push through. in front of the almost baked tasting malt base, the beer has a lot of fruitiness to it, cherry juice and citrus, with a oily northwestern piney vibe as well, very robust, exceptionally bitter, and downright boozy, especially after it warms up a little bit. the hops come through fresh and vegetal, and the alcohol seems to accentuate the grain richness here, its balanced, but its huge. a little of this goes a long way, and a small pour was enough for me at the time. long lingering hoppy aftertaste. well made beer, but this is old school and enormous, something for a chilly autumn evening, or on a november saturday standing around a smoker.

4.17 /5 rDev +6.1%
look: 4.5 | smell: 3.75 | taste: 4.25 | feel: 4.5 | overall: 4.25

Nice deep gold 1 finger tight and boozy has some watermelon and pine some cherry and finishes the way cocaine smells.
Gives you a ren and stimpy kind of vibe.

3.85 /5 rDev -2%
look: 4 | smell: 4 | taste: 3.75 | feel: 4 | overall: 3.75

Handsome golden amber brew with a fine-grained pile of foam in the Rodenbach goblet. Massive peach aroma. Sudsy southfeel adds to the pleasure.

This is surprisingly sweet with a woody cedar taste. Huge fruity flavors. Orange peel. The sugary finish is enlivened by tart apricot and a whiff of onions. From the 22 oz bottle purchased at a San Diego supermarket.

4.35 /5 rDev +10.7%
look: 4.5 | smell: 4.5 | taste: 4.25 | feel: 4.5 | overall: 4.25

Hazy dark golden color with off-white head. Aroma has a really interesting hop profile with grapes and also some juicy orchard fruits with a hint of watermelon. Taste follows with the watermelon and grapes plus some orange. Medium to intense bitterness throughout. Medium body, quite smooth on the palate. I really enjoyed this one. It has a very different hop profile from other IPAs.

4 /5 rDev +1.8%
look: 4 | smell: 4 | taste: 4 | feel: 4 | overall: 4

22oz bottle dated 12/14/16 poured into a tulip
A: Hazy burnt orange with a 1.5 finger head
S: Juicy tropical fruit, grapefruit, pineapp!e, a hint of pine
T: Full of pineapple, some additional tropical fruit and citrus
M: Full-bodied, juicy and balanced
O: A tasty DIPA, more pineapple than I've ever tasted in a pale ale

4.12 /5 rDev +4.8%
look: 4.25 | smell: 4 | taste: 4.25 | feel: 4 | overall: 4

Have had this on tap at the Dealership and at the Barn and from a bottle -pours a not quite clear orange/gold with quickly dissipating white head leaving minimal lacing.Nose, taste and finish is solid WC IPA fare ,if ya like high octane Imperial IPA's ya can't go wrong with this. A perennial favorite of mine I would never hesitate to drink.Cheers!

3.94 /5 rDev +0.3%
look: 4 | smell: 4.25 | taste: 3.75 | feel: 3.75 | overall: 4

L: Pours a cloudy, gold with a 1-finger head. Average head retention and some nice lacing.

S: Strong citrus nose with pineapple being the most pronounced.

T/F: Definitely strong on the hops and a little malt to balance it out and add some sweetness. It is a 9.6% ABV, and you can taste some of that up front. Bitter finish, and maybe a little too much bitterness at the end. Medium body.


Brewing India Pale Ale Recipes IPA Beer Styles

India Pale Ale (or IPA) is a popular staple of homebrewers, microbrewers and hopheads who enjoy brewing some of the hoppiest beers on the planet. This week we look at India Pale Ale beer recipes, how to brew an IPA recipe and its history.

History

According to Wikipedia, India Pale Ale traces its origins to the 17 th century in England with the earliest pale ales. In fact, new malting techniques developed at the start of the 17 th century using coke-fired as opposed to wood-fired kilns enabled production of the first pale malts, and subsequently paler beers. One of the popular pale styles was a beer called October beer, which was highly hopped and designed to be stored for an extended period. Note that this October beer bears no relation to German Oktoberfest beer.

George Hodgson, owner of Bow Brewery brewed a version of October beer that was popular among the traders of the East India Trading Company in the late 1700’s. East India traders subsequently started trading many of Hodgson’s beers including his October beer. The highly hopped, high gravity, highly attenuated pale ale actually benefitted from the long trip to India and became popular with consumers there.

Other brewers, including several large Burton breweries like Bass, Alsop and Salt lost their European export market in Russia due to new high tarrifs on beer. They quickly emulated the October beer of Bow Brewery and also started exporting to India. The style, which now was now commonly called “India Pale Ale” became popular in England as well around 1840.

The IPA Beer Style

IPA is a hoppy, fairly strong pale ale traditionally brewed with English malt, hops and yeast. The American version has a slightly more pronounced malt flavor and uses American ingredients. The BJCP style guide for 2008 places original gravity at between 1.050 and 1.075, and highly attenuating yeasts are used to drive a final gravity between 1.010 and 1.018 for 5-7.5% alcohol by volume.

Multiple hop additions dominate the flavor profile in IPAs. English IPA’s typically have 40-60 IBUs, though the slightly stronger imperial IPA versions can have hop rates as high as 120 IBUs.

Color is similar to many pale ales – golden to deep copper color – varying between 8-14 SRM for the finished beer. Moderate carbonation is often used, though some English IPAs are lightly carbonated.

Brewing an IPA

Hops dominate the flavor of an IPA, so careful selection of the hop additions is critical to success. Traditional English IPAs use popular English hops such as Fuggles, Goldings, Northdown, Target, though sometimes noble hops are also used in finishing. Higher alpha English hops are also popular for bittering. American IPAs use the rough American equivalents such as Cascade, Centennial, Williamette, though again higher alpha hops are often used in bittering.

Multiple hop additions are almost always used for IPAs including bittering hops at the beginning of the boil, often several additions of finishing hops in the last 5-15 minutes of the boil, and dry hops to provide a hoppy aroma. In general, higher alpha hops are used for the base boil addition while aromatic lower alpha hops are used in finishing and dry hopping, though some traditional IPAs use lower alpha English hops throughout.

Traditional English 2-row pale malt makes up the bulk of the grain bill (or two row American malt for the American IPA), usually around 85-90% of the total. Crystal and caramel malts are traditionally used to add color and body to achieve the desired overall color both in extract and all-grain recipes.

Chocolate and black malts are not often used in commercial examples though they occasionally make their way into home-brewed recipes. Personally I prefer moderately colored caramel/crystal malt. Occasionally you will see wheat, flaked barley or carapils malt added to enhance body, though these are rarely used and only in small quantities.

As many IPAs were first brewed in the English city of Burton, they share much with their English Pale Ale cousins, including the unusual Burton water profile which accentuates the hoppy profile. The Burton water profile has extremely high concentrations of calcium carbonate and bicarbonate. Depending on your local water source, a small addition of Gypsum (CaSO4) can sometimes help to simulate the hop-enhancing high carbonate Burton waters.

IPAs are most often made with traditional English ale yeasts, though care must be taken to choose a highly attenuating yeast and avoid some of the lower attenuating, fruity British ale yeasts. Many brewers bypass the problem entirely by choosing a highly attenuating American or California ale yeast for a cleaner finish.

All grain IPAs should be mashed at a lower temperature than pale ales to achieve the high attenuation desired. A mash temperature around 150F for 90 minutes will aid in breaking down more complex sugars for a clean finish that accentuates the hops.

IPAs are fermented and stored at the traditional ale temperatures, usually around the mid 60’s F. Long storage periods are sometimes required to achieve the proper hop-malt balance.

IPA Recipes

Many more are available here on our Recipes Page:

I hope you enjoyed this week’s article on the great India Pale Ale beer style. Please don’t hesitate to leave a comment or subscribe for regular delivery if you enjoyed this article. Have a great brewing week.


All Grain Recipe

Brewer: Dave Clark
Batch Size: 6.00 galStyle: Imperial IPA (14C)
Boil Size: 8.52 galStyle Guide: BJCP 2008
Color: 6.4 SRMEquipment: My Equipment - Keggle Brew Pot (15 Gal) and Igloo/Gott Cooler (10 Gal)
Bitterness: 85.2 IBUsBoil Time: 60 min
Est OG: 1.073 (17.8° P)Mash Profile: Single Infusion, Medium Body, Batch Sparge
Est FG: 1.012 SG (3.1° P)Fermentation: Ale, Single Stage
ABV: 8.1%Taste Rating: 46.0

Ingredients
Amount Name Type #
13 lbs 12.46 oz Pale Malt (2 Row) US (2.0 SRM) Grain 1
12.32 oz Cara-Pils/Dextrine (2.0 SRM) Grain 2
12.32 oz Caramel/Crystal Malt - 10L (10.0 SRM) Grain 3
12.32 oz Munich Malt (9.0 SRM) Grain 4
6.00 oz Honey Malt (25.0 SRM) Grain 5
5.92 oz White Wheat Malt (2.4 SRM) Grain 6
0.88 oz Nugget [13.0%] - Boil 60 min Hops 7
0.88 oz Citra [12.0%] - Boil 30 min Hops 8
1.00 Whirlfloc Tablet (Boil 15 min) Misc 9
0.88 oz Citra [12.0%] - Boil 15 min Hops 10
0.88 oz Citra [12.0%] - Boil 10 min Hops 11
0.88 oz Citra [12.0%] - Boil 5 min Hops 12
1.0 pkgs California Ale (White Labs #WLP001) Yeast 13
1.16 oz Citra [12.0%] - Dry Hop 12 days Hops 14
0.53 oz Amarillo Gold [8.5%] - Dry Hop 12 days Hops 15
0.71 oz Citra [12.0%] - Dry Hop 9 days Hops 16
0.92 oz Amarillo Gold [8.5%] - Dry Hop 6 days Hops 17
1.09 oz Citra [12.0%] - Dry Hop 3 days Hops 18

Taste Notes

Notes

Ratings

Best beer I've ever brewed!

After having the real thing and being amazed by it, once I heard about this podcast I set out to brew it the next day. Definitely a winner in many books. Tasted by many other brewers locally and all agreed that it's worthy of winning a competition (Maybe I'll try that on the next batch, as this one is vanishing much faster than I'd like it to!).

Good Stuff

I brewed this but missed my gravity and so mine became essentially an IPA. I havent had the commercial version but this one tastes fantastic.

Steve

Missed my gravity too but it was the best beer I have ever tasted.

Delicious

I've spent many an evening at the brewery drinking this beer. It is a F_CK1nG great tasty brew.

I'm so happy I just found this recipe. I can't wait to try it out.

Brewed 10 gallons of this and it is amazing! When they talked about the numerous tropical fruit flavors on the podcast, they were not kidding! I have never had the commercial example, however this is great!

Very Drinkable

Just cooked this one up and it is sooo drinkable. has loads of hops in the finish but not overwhelming. The citra is pronounced.

Taste Rating?

Hey Dave, Thanks for your recipe and from what I can see it appears that it would be a very good brew! I am a somewhat new home brewer and have designed and built a really nice All-Grain brewing bench that is mobile it consists of a Blichmann 15gal. hot liqour kettle a 30gal.Monster Mash Tun kettle with a stainless steel false bottom and a 20gal. Blichmann Boil Kettle with 2 March pumps! I feel that my system is a good system to brew on but my question is how do you get such a high taste rating for your IPA? I have never been able to get a rating any higher than 30 for all of my IPA's!
Anyone here including yourself can visit my Facebook page to see my system and some of my brew days and some of my home brew Timmytbrewing/facebook
Thanks in advance for your reply!
Tim
Hi Dave! I brewed your recipe for the Citra and I used BS to scale it up to a 12 gallon batch and I cant tell you how good this brew is tasting after 2 weeks in the bottle, WOW! This recipe is right on and is a good one that I will brew over and over for years to come!
Thank you,
Tim

Spot On Citra DIPA!

I kegged this recipe 37 days ago and it's still a crowd favorite at my homebrew sessions. This beer really tasted great beginning 2 weeks after being kegged. This is going to be a go to IPA for my kegerator!

Brewed as a stellar single IPA

I made a version of this at about 1.062 OG and hit about 6.8% ABV - it's a serious crowd favorite. This hop combination is amazing. So clean and tropical. I ended up first wort hopping the 60 minute addition and going with cascade for that, brewed with hard water and I removed the cara-pils and double up on the crystal malt. This is the absolute best beer I've ever brewed. Entered it in a local homebrew comp this month with high hopes! Thanks @krazydave and BN!

Personal favorite

I've brewed this recipe twice and I can't get enough. The aroma from this beer is like no other, I love it. Even my daughter who is not a beer drinker likes it. I've got 3 pounds of citra hops and I hope I have enough to make it though the summer.
Of the 4 kegs in the fridge and this one empties twice as fast as any of the others.
I'm brewing another batch tomorrow.
Thanks for the recipe.

Great imperial IPA

I agree . very nice stuff.

Brewed 10 gallons in April, OG 1.072, FG 1.014 = ABV 7.7%, very smooth and tasty IPA, be good during the summer months so must make again. Only things I did differently was used US05 yeast without a starter, dropped gelatin in at 2.5 weeks in the keg to make it super clear, so light its truly awesome cleared up. and cranked up the C02 for 3 days to 30psi after it sat for 3 weeks at 12psi to give it a bit more fizz. Would really like to find the Kern River Brewing Citra Double IPA to how close I am to the real deal!!

Did this in a five gallon batch. Did not get the FG down to the point I wanted but, still tastes very nice. Love the upfront aroma. Will look forward to attempting again.

Can

Just brewed today, missed my OG, but got it to 1.070. Had the real thing once and it was amazing! But almost impossible to get so hope the clone is just as good. Fingers crossed.

Update: this beer is absolutely amazing! For anyone that loves IPAs, you have to make this. Love to share my beer, but wanna drink this all myself! Cant wait to make another batch.

Amazing!

Dynamite

Made this beer in the spring using this recipe and it was a hit with everyone who sampled it. Dynamite and will brew this again and again. Kegged my first batch and next time i will play around with different hops . make this . you will love it.

Wow

I brewed this after Labor Day, then force carbonated to bottles after dry hopping three days. I did not spread the dry hop, rather, stuffed everything in one bag and dropped it in right before carbonating. I missed my gravity because of multiple stuck sparges with a new system, but it finished perfect, and I got around 7.9%. The bitterness from boil hops is awesome, and the dry hopping really added the citrus tones, and smoothed out the beer. Amazing recipe

Who says you can have to many dry hops

Can't wait to brew this one soon.

Excellent Beer

Made this at my brothers suggestion. Great beer.

Very happy with the results

This was my first all grain brew, I used the BIAB and it turned out fantastic!! I over added a bit too much corn sugar before bottling so it's a bit over carbed but tons of flavor and aroma. I'm sure it will be even better in a couple weeks once it mellows out a bit. Will brew this again.

Yes its That Good

I hate to say this because many of the other comments say the same thing but. this is my most successful and well liked recipe yet. Absolutely delicious. I do think the "Double" part of the name is a bit deceiving because I do not believe this is a Double IPA, but it is a very delicious and fruity IPA that pleases an IPA guru as well as those who do not normally like the IPA. If you tweak this recipe in the bitterness category I believe it will be a true Double IPA but it is not needed. Brew this. You will not be disappointed. My new go to, always on tap beer.

Enticing

I have asked several other to taste this and they have started home brewing since. I will brew this again this summer.

Great recipe!

Best beer I ever made, and probably the best beer I ever tasted. Made 3 gal, and will make again. O/G spot on

This is one of my favorite beer recipe. Every-time a huge success , The second time i made this beer with Belgian Ale yeast and everybody loved it. I also tried with Galaxy Hops and Nelson Sauvin . It's the perfect recipe to get the best aroma from your hops.

High hopes from a hops lover

This is my first time all grain brewing and just got this recipe in my carboy on Sunday. I did stray from the exact recipe a bit. The bags of malt were way under what was stated on the bag as I measured them on my scale. So I threw the whole bags in. I used bottled water that stated it was from Chippewa Falls water source. Leinenkugel's anyone?
As of this morning I am not seeing any major action in the carboy as far as bubbling or krousen on top or stuck to sides. I didn't take a gravity reading as my hydromiter order didn't arrive on time. The WLP001 I got from my LHBS was near its best used by date, which has me a bit nervous. But in reading around the web it's not uncommon to see a somewhat slow fermentation.
Hopefully this turns out as good and the rest of the reviewers are claiming it is. It was only natural for me to do a dbl IPA for my first homebrew. I love a good hoppy brew.

Update: I had to repitch dry yeast. The LHBS finally admitted they had their fridge freeze and possibly kill all their liquid yeast. less than 12 hours after pitching dry I got a massive bubble over.
I just racked to secondary and it's looking pretty good.
Update 2. After being in the keg for 5 days I finally sampled it. Definitely taste citrus, almost grapefruity. Plenty of bitterness. It is much cloudier than I was hoping but It has to be due to extra yeast added due to privious mentioned issue. I will be sitting on it for a few weeks to see if it mellows out a bit. Overall Im going to enjoy it. Will brew it again.

Very Mellow IPA

I am a huge IPA fan and this beer turned out well. Much like others, I agree it is a very complex beer and will be enjoyed by all. My preferred IPAs are very citrus flavored however I was surprised that there was not a more intense citrus flavor given the amount of citrus hops in the boil (I added an extra 1 0Z of citrus two minutes prior to flame out). I was able to get better efficiency and my FG finished at 9.1%. I did not use a hop sack however I would recommend using one to reduce the yield loss.

Lovin it

I did this recipe with a BIAB set up. Everyone loves it. I will never be without it. Always my go to beer.

Help with the hops.

At each new hop addition do you remove the previous hops or leave them all in the whole time?

Hop additions

I was wondering the same question as wobbly10, do you use a hop sac to take out the hops? Or do you transfer the beer each time? I thought your beer would get a grassy taste of you left the hops in longer than 4 days? This was my second beer I brewed, even after doing most everything wrong it still tasted good, I will brew this again very soon..

Very nice

Brewed it and loved it. One thing that I noticed, there was a quite limited time when it was spot on, if I remember correctly, between 1-3 months after brewing. Before that it tasted kind of "raw" and afterwards the freshness of dry hopping dissipated. Still, definitely a recipe that I will brew again.

Great Ones

Dry Hopping.

At the homebrew level I would not perform the dry hopping the way this recipe asks. Especially if you are dry hopping in a primary fermentor. Your beer will collect vegetal flavors very rapidly if the hops interact with the trub. But also, it's overkill. There is nothing to be gained by having your hops in contact with the beer for 12 days. If you are going to dryhop, then you definitely do not want to be constantly opening and closing your fermenting device. Exposure to oxygen after ferment will ruin the clean flavors. I prefer racking to a secondary device and doing a big short dry hop no longer than 5 days. It is a great recipe, but the dry hopping method employed here is a recipe for disaster.

Amazing

Best beer a friend and I had made twice now. We try to make this once a year at least. Love it.

Just Drank

I just drank my first bottle. It's the best batch I've brewed so far. Very bitter, and lots of hop and hop aroma. Citrusy. And a great strong IPA. I missed my gravity on this one (I'm still a newer all grain brewer) so it's just a normal 1.067 OG/1.010 FG IPA. Try this out.

My favorite!

Brewed my fifth batch today! Definitely my favorite IPA to date with all grain. Simply awesome!

Beautiful - the first beer I've brewed that I love!

Citr is my favourite hop and wit the bitterness lent by the Fuggle, this is perfectly balanced. Putting aside 6 litres for our annual Oktoberfest tasting!

My goto for now

I have brewed this recipe 8 times now over the past 8 months. Delicious. I agree with a previous comment regarding dry hopping. It is a bit overkill. I have reduced to just 1oz of Citra and 1 oz of Amarillo 5 day before kegging.

Great Beer

I'd drink it every day if i could :)

Great Everytime

This is a great beer if you like tons of hops and people that don't like IPA's like this one. Turned out great all 3 times I have brewed it. I used Wyeast 1056 instead of WLP001.

Keg Hopping

Great Beer. I used most of the hops in keg hopping. Very tasty and good equillibrium of the bitterness and malt flavors.

Awesome beer

It's the best recipe I've brewed so far. Surelly I'll brew it again soon.

XMAS DBL IPA

Mr.

Cirtus/Grapefruity Deliciousness!

This was a fantastic beer, even though I didn't quite hit the gravity (1.068 rather than 1.073) Still came out 7.9% ABV and delicious! Going to be keeping this one in my keezer at all times! Perfect spring IPA

Awsome!

Found this beer while I was looking for my first IPA to brew. Turned out very good. Straight forward recipe and a massive crowd pleaser. Great smooth DIPA.


Cerebral Brewing DDH Rare Trait Double IPA

A double-dry-hopped, double IPA version of Cerebral's original Rare Trait IPA, DDH Double Rare Trait is grassy, herbal, citrusy, and tropical, all the way from the first sniff to the last sip. What's great about this beer is that it doubles down on the hops (Citra, El Dorado and Mosaic) dankness and juiciness without going overboard in either directions. It leans into dankness without falling into hop burn territory and dives into the juice pool without sinking too deep into the sweet smoothie end. I knew the moment I tasted this beer, I'd want it again and after I had it again, I wanted it even more. I still want it.

A double-dry-hopped, double IPA version of Cerebral's original Rare Trait IPA, DDH Double Rare Trait is grassy, herbal, citrusy, and tropical, all the way from the first sniff to the last sip. What's great about this beer is that it doubles down on the hops (Citra, El Dorado and Mosaic) dankness and juiciness without going overboard in either directions. It leans into dankness without falling into hop burn territory and dives into the juice pool without sinking too deep into the sweet smoothie end. I knew the moment I tasted this beer, I'd want it again and after I had it again, I wanted it even more. I still want it.

A double-dry-hopped, double IPA version of Cerebral's original Rare Trait IPA, DDH Double Rare Trait is grassy, herbal, citrusy, and tropical, all the way from the first sniff to the last sip. What's great about this beer is that it doubles down on the hops (Citra, El Dorado and Mosaic) dankness and juiciness without going overboard in either directions. It leans into dankness without falling into hop burn territory and dives into the juice pool without sinking too deep into the sweet smoothie end. I knew the moment I tasted this beer, I'd want it again and after I had it again, I wanted it even more. I still want it.


The Best Double IPAs Available in Portland

Double IPA is the new IPA. That became obvious when we set out to taste test a variety of summer seasonal beers. I expected Belmont Station's coolers to be crammed with marionberry wits and coconut cream ales, but instead found that summer 2014 is when pretty much every brewery in America decided to roll out a bottled double, or imperial, IPA.

We brought 40 different bottles back to our office for a blind taste test conducted in random order, inviting a few friends with beer-judging and brewing expertise. The result? The Middle Left Coast—namely breweries north of San Francisco but south of the Columbia—rolled over the competition. And perhaps it's just the Cascadian palate, but two Portland breweries actually toppled the legendary Pliny the Elder.

Breakside makes a lot of beer—100 different releases in 2013 between its two local outposts—and most of it is pretty good. But few Breakside brews can match the newly bottled India Golden Ale Double IPA. It pours a gleaming gold and is light in body. It's fresh and ultra hoppy, but at 60 international bitterness units, it's more rose and grapefruit than bitter pine resin thanks to big doses of two newish hop varieties, Mosaic and El Dorado. You can't do better than this—especially at $6 for a 22-ounce bottle.

Comments: "Softly sweet." "Love the lack of syrup." "Well-balanced, could definitely drink a pint of this."


Doubling Down on IPAs

Over the past 20 years, the way to make a double IPA (otherwise known as DIPA or &ldquoimperial IPA&rdquo) hasn&rsquot really changed: roughly double the ingredients that would go into a normal IPA and you get a double IPA. As the weather changes, more and more stores begin cellaring their heavy winter stouts and replacing them with these hop- and malt-forward beasts.

By all accounts, the first double IPA was brewed by Vinnie Cilurzo, owner of the legendary Russian River Brewing Company, in 1994. Called Inaugural Ale (a double entendre, as it was both the world&rsquos first double IPA and also the first beer that Cilurzo ever brewed for the now-defunct Blind Pig Brewery in Temecula, CA), the doubling came about by accident. Nervous about his first brew and hoping to mask any off-flavors, Cilurzo increased the hops and malts used in the Blind Pig IPA recipe. When the batch yielded a terrific and very potent beer, the double IPA was born.

Over the past 20 years, the way to make a double IPA (otherwise known as DIPA or &ldquoimperial IPA&rdquo) hasn&rsquot really changed: roughly double the ingredients that would go into a normal IPA and you get a double IPA. Like their single counterparts, doubles are bright and refreshing, more fit for a summer barbecue than a winter campfire they&rsquore also heavier. As in, they carry more weight, and have higher ABVs &mdash 7.5 percent or more, to be exact. If you&rsquove never experienced them, try imagining a square-foot piece of chocolate cake. Now imagine the same piece of cake, but with twice the amount of chocolate per square inch. The double IPA is like that second cake: rich and flavorful, and oh-so-very dense. When enjoying them, one is a treat, two is a lot and you really, really have to like cake (and have a designated driver and a hangover cure) to go for three.

As the weather changes, more and more stores begin cellaring their heavy winter stouts and replacing them with the hop- and malt-forward double IPAs. For those looking to expand their palates, doubles offer the citrus hop and bready malt flavors of regular IPAs, but amplified, and with plenty more complexity to spare. We tasted ten of our favorites.

Bell&rsquos Hopslam Ale

Double IPA Most Likely to Convert a Nonbeliever: East Coast, meet West Coast. Bottle, meet one of the coolest labels ever drawn. Kalamazoo-based Bell&rsquos makes a wide variety of beers, but one of their most popular (and difficult to find) is Hopslam, the Midwest brewery&rsquos take on the West Coast IPA. Although it&rsquos made with six different varieties of hops from the Pacific Northwest, Hopslam isn&rsquot quite as hoppy as advertised &mdash but that&rsquos a good thing. Despite the ABV, and aforementioned (advertised) game-ending hoppiness, it stands out as one of the most drinkable and delicious double IPAs on the market.

Dogfish Head Burton Baton

Best Barrel-Aged Double IPA: From the makers of 120 Minute IPA &mdash which, at 15 to 20 percent ABV, is one of the more powerful beers on the market &mdash comes Burton Baton, a much more mellow brew that&rsquos available year round. However, mellow doesn&rsquot mean low ABV: at 10 percent, it still packs a punch. Made from a blend of English Style Old Ale and Double IPA, the BFG (that&rsquos &ldquoBig Friendly Giant&rdquo) of oak-aged IPAs pours a hazy gold, with pineapple and alcohol on the nose and earthy, almost grassy hops in the mouth. The time it spends in wood adds some interesting flavor notes and gives the beer its signature full-bodied mouthfeel.

Avery Maharaja

Most Reverential to its Ingredients: Maharaja, derived from the sanskrit words for great (mahat) and king (rajan), serves as both the title of ancient Indian rulers and the second installment of Avery&rsquos Dictator Series. Why dictators? We&rsquore not entirely sure. Regardless, Maharaja is a reddish-brown, 10.2-ABV brew that allows (or forces) every one of its ingredients to come to the forefront. Rather than smack you in the face with hops or malt, the Maharaja presents its flavors &mdash &ldquoHere,&rdquo it says, &ldquosmell citrus and pine. And can you taste that? That&rsquos pineapple, and caramel sweetness and a big kick of alcohol.&rdquo We&rsquoll hang in this dictator&rsquos court any day.

This Just In: Stone Enjoy By 04.20.14 IPA

We&rsquore big fans of Stone&rsquos Enjoy By series, which are generally designed to be consumed within five weeks of bottling, but their latest edition, the 9.4 percent ABV 04.20.14, wasn&rsquot in our hands when our Double IPA roundup went live. However, we&rsquove since tasted it, and it&rsquos too good not to include &mdash the beer, brewed for a certain, er, holiday, smells of earthy citrus rind and packs a powerful, resinous hop punch that certainly lives up to the &ldquodevastatingly dank&rdquo moniker emblazoned on the bottle.

Dark Horse Double Crooked Tree

Biggest Double IPA from the Smallest Town: Before learning of the Dark Horse Brewery, we&rsquod never heard of Marshall, MI, a small town near Kalamazoo with a population of around 7,000. But with beers like Plead the 5th and Double Crooked Tree being brewed within the town&rsquos limits, we might be willing to make a visit. This double is Dark Horse&rsquos popular Crooked Tree IPA, literally doubled (except for the water). That means double hops, double malt and double ABV. Because of the high ABV (12 percent), the Double Crooked can actually be aged &mdash a process that often renders IPAs undrinkable. As it ages, the hops recede and let the malts step forward. Ours, which was relatively fresh, poured a caramel color and smelled of malt and burnt cane sugar. The Double Crooked Tree is a winey beer made for sipping, likely to appeal to those who prefer Belgian-style beers to hop-forward IPAs.

DC Brau On the Wings of Armageddon

Most Bombastic Double IPA: Yeah, it comes from a can. But so does Heady Topper, Ten FIDY, several of Cigar City&rsquos headiest creations and plenty of other bestial brews. So don&rsquot hate. Or, rather, keep hating, and leave more OTWOA for the rest of us. First brewed for the impending 2012 Mayan Apocalypse &mdash &ldquobasically what we would want to drink if the world imploded&rdquo, DC Brau told us &mdash this malt-forward East Coast brew pours a dark copper with an off-white head. It smells like mature grapefruit and has a sharp lactic taste, almost like jack cheese. Although it has the characteristic double IPA hop bitterness, it lacks the juicy hops of some of the West Coast brews. It&rsquos definitely one of the boldest and most complex double IPAs we&rsquove ever tasted.

Make Your Own Pliny the Elder

According to Beer Advocate, a double IPA called Pliny the Elder is the fourth best beer in the world, narrowly edged by its nephew, Pliny the Younger (another double), as well as Goose Island Bourbon Brand Coffee Stout and our personal favorite, Heady Topper (yet another double). Want to make your own modern version of a liquid natural philosopher? Here&rsquos how.

Recipe provided by Vinnie Cilurzo to the Homebrewer&rsquos Association

Ingredients
For 6.0 gallons (22.7 L) [Net: 5 gallons (18.9 L) after hop loss]
13.25 lb (6.01 kg) Two-Row pale malt
0.6 lb (272 g) Crystal 45 malt
0.6 lb (272 g) Carapils (Dextrin) Malt
0.75 lb (340 g) Dextrose (corn) sugar
3.50 oz (99 g) Columbus* 13.90% A.A. 90 min.
0.75 oz (21 g) Columbus* 13.90% A.A. 45 min.
1.00 oz (28 g) Simcoe 12.30% A.A. 30 min.
1.00 oz (28 g) Centennial 8.00% A.A. 0 min.
2.50 oz (71 g) Simcoe 12.30% A.A. 0 min.
1.00 oz (28 g) Columbus* 13.90% A.A. Dry Hop (12 to 14 days total)
1.00 oz (28 g) Centennial 9.10% A.A. Dry Hop (12 to 14 days total)
1.00 oz (28 g) Simcoe 12.30% A.A. Dry Hop (12 to 14 days total)
0.25 oz (7 g) Columbus* 13.90% A.A. Dry Hop (5 days to go in dry hop)
0.25 oz (7 g) Centennial 9.10% A.A. Dry Hop (5 days to go in dry hop)
0.25 oz (7 g) Simcoe 12.30% A.A. Dry Hop (5 days to go in dry hop)

*Tomahawk/Zeus can be substituted for Columbus
White Labs WLP001 California Ale Yeast or 1056 American Ale Yeast

Directions
Mash grains at 151-152° F (66-67° C) for an hour or until starch conversion is complete. Mash out at 170° F (77° C) and sparge. Collect 8 gallons (30 L) of runoff, stir in dextrose, and bring to a boil. Add hops as indicated in the recipe. After a 90 minute boil, chill wort to 67° F (19° C) and transfer to fermenter. Pitch two packages of yeast or a yeast starter and aerate well. Ferment at 67° F (19° C) until fermentation activity subsides, then rack to secondary. Add first set of dry hops on top of the racked beer and age 7-9 days, then add the second set. Age five more days then bottle or keg the beer.

Southern Tier Unearthly

Easiest Drinking Double IPA: &ldquoIn my opinion, the malt bill for a Double IPA should be simple&rdquo, says Vinnie Cilurzo, maker of the first double IPA, and Southern Tier took his advice to heart. Unearthly contains only two malts as well as ale yeast and four hop varietals. With its sweet nose, malt backbone in the mouth and an oily, resinous texture that coats the tongue, Unearthly is characteristic of an East Coast double rightly so for the Lakewood, New York brewery. This is the perfect beer for those that prefer sweet hops to bitter ones. And, for those who like a little bit more vanilla, Southern Tier also makes a popular barrel-aged Unearthly.

Firestone Walker Double Jack

Editor&rsquos Choice: Here on the East Coast, we&rsquore starting to see more and more Firestone Walker beers. They&rsquore fantastic. From the chewy bourbon-barrel aged Parabola stout to the flagship Double Barrel Ale, the Paso Robles, CA-based brewery makes all their beers with simple, quality ingredients and proprietary house yeast. Smelling their popular Double Jack is like sticking your nose in a grapefruit, but without the stinging citric acid. It&rsquos easy drinking, refreshing and refined, the kind of beer you want to nurse at a classy summer barbecue. Just watch out &mdash the 9.5-ABV brew goes down deceptively smooth.

Green Flash Palate Wrecker

Double IPA Most Likely to Wreck Your Palate: Green Flash&rsquos website boasts that this beer has 100+ International Bitterness Units (IBUs). We&rsquore not going to get into IBUs, because they&rsquore confusing and technical, but we will say that the ability to taste differences between them peaks at around 100. In other words, this is about as hoppy as a beer can get. It smells like dried fruit and has plenty of bready alcohol pungency. For those looking for a hop-punch, Palate Wrecker is bitter to the extreme.

Weyerbacher Double Simcoe

Best Double IPA for a Cold Winter Night Beside the Fire: Ah, Simcoe hops: high alpha acid content, lots of aromatic oils and low cohumulone levels. For those of you who don&rsquot speak brewer, that translates to sweaty citrus on the nose, a caramel malt backbone and a dank finish. This is a polarizing double IPA for sure &mdash one for those who enjoy hipper, funkier, earthier beers. For an alternative flavor profile, the Double Simcoe makes a unique choice.

Ballast Point Dorado

Best Tribute to the Western-Style IPA: San Diego-based Ballast Point Brewery gives their beers nautical names &mdash dorado, which means &ldquogolden&rdquo in Spanish, is another name for a mahi-mahi. But even before we knew what it meant, we wrote that the beer was &ldquothe definition of golden&rdquo. It&rsquos got a juicy grapefruit nose and a well-balanced, piney taste that steadily increases as the beer remains in the mouth before finishing with a bitter bite. To us, it tastes a lot like another of Ballast Point&rsquos beers, Sculpin, but they&rsquore both phenomenal, so who cares?


Double Tap – Vermont Style – Recipe

Specifications:
Size: 4.5 gal
Efficiency: 74%
Attenuation: 84.0%

Original Gravity: 1.084
Terminal Gravity: 1.013
Color: 6.12 SRM
Alcohol: 9.37% ABV
Bitterness: 72.4 IBUs

Mash Profile:
148°F – 60m

Water Treatment:
Extremely Soft NYC Water
4g Gypsum (to mash)
2g Calcium Chloride (to mash)

Hopping:
0.5 oz Warrior® (16.0% AA) – 90 m
1 oz Citra™ (12.7% AA) – 10 m
1 oz Azacca (10.8% AA) – 10 m
3 oz Citra™ (12.7% AA) – Whirlpool 15m
1 oz Azacca (10.8% AA) – Whirlpool 15m
2 oz Mosaic (11.6% AA) – Whirlpool 15m
1.5 oz Citra™ (13.2% AA) – Hop Back
1.5 oz Azacca (11.3% AA) – Hop Back
2 oz Citra™ (12.7% AA) – Dry Hop 3 Days
2 oz Azacca (10.8% AA) – Dry Hop 3 Days
1 oz Mosaic (11.6% AA) – Dry Hop 3 Days

Kettle Additions:
0.5ea Whirlfloc Tablets (Irish moss) – 15m
0.5tsp Wyeast Nutrient – 10m

Yeast:
2L Starter on Stir Plate – Giga Yeast GY054 Vermont Ale


Double IPA homebrew review and all grain recipe

In this video a try a Double IPA or DIPA. Also going through the all grain homebrewing IPA recipe for this double IPA if anyone wants to try to brew your own at home.

Want to send beer mail for review?
Contact me on: [email protected]

If you enjoy my content consider supporting on Patreon. Even $2 a month helps me out making more and better content for you.
Recipes and Vlog on Patreon:
https://bit.ly/2V5Zsgz

DrHans Merch Store (Awesome T-shirts):
https://bit.ly/2UHiiv9

Heres a link to the After work bryggeri at facebook:
https://bit.ly/31s6Mne

*********************************
This stuff I didnt find on Amazon, still good stuff though!

Spundit & fermonitor: https://ebay.to/2ung4Sr
Bulldog malt mill: https://ebay.to/2MyKSpQ

***************************
Thumbnail created with Pixomatic PRO

Cheers and thanks for watching /DrHans

*DISCLAIMER: This description contains affiliate links.
That means that if you click on one of the product links, I’ll receive a small commission if you decide to buy anything (to no extra cost to you of course). This help supports the channel and allows me to continue to make videos. Thank you for your support!

Double IPA
homebrewing hobby growing hops at home eating hops hoop shoots Brewing beer 101 hops for homebrewing beer hops for brewing beer
Homebrew Wednesday Grain to glass Homebrewing Hobby Brewing beer at home Brewing beer from scratch 4k Ultra HD Craft beer homebrew review Swedish Craft beer 4k HD Hop Growing 101 101


Dry Hopping

Once primary fermentation is complete, it’s time to add the dry hop charge.

Now, there are MANY schools of thought when it comes to dry hopping.

Some people ALWAYS rack to a secondary vessel when dry hopping. Some people add loose pellets or leaves. Some people put the hops in a sanitized hop sack.

Some people swear you can’t leave dry hops in for more than a few days or your beer will taste like grass clippings. Some people dry hop in the keg, and leave the hops in until the keg is empty.

Basically, there are just about as many different dry hopping methods as there are brewers. Figure out what works for your process. It’s your beer after all.

Here’s what I usually do.

First of all, I almost never use a secondary vessel at all, unless it’s a fruit beer or something. I only do it when I want or need to get the beer off the yeast cake for some reason or another, usually involving physical space. I don’t worry about leaving the beer on the yeast for extended periods otherwise. On homebrew scales I actually think it’s a benefit.

Anyway, back to dry hopping.

I typically leave the beer in the primary fermenter (I mostly use a wide-mouth plastic carboy like this guy), then add my dry hops (almost always pellets) in a LOOSELY tied hop bag. It needs to be loose for two reasons.

  • Hop pellets REALLY swell up when they get soaked with beer.
  • You want beer to be able to penetrate the soaked hops. A tightly packed hop ball will not be very effective.

With this configuration, the hop pellets will be floating on top of the beer. That’s OK in my book. Or article, I guess this isn’t a book…

I actually prefer it, because it keeps the hops up off the yeast cake. This in turn makes it less likely I’m going to suck up a bunch of yeast when I package the beer.

I actually prefer nice, crystal clear beers, but with heavily dry hopped styles some haze is to be expected. That doesn’t mean I want a ton of yeast suspended in a West Coast inspired IPA or pale ale.

Anyway, after three days or so (or whenever it’s convenient) I can easily grab that hop sack (with clean and sanitized hands, of course) and actually put it into the keg I’m about to rack into.

That’s right, I put the same hops right into the keg before racking the beer into it. I’ve never had any problems with grassiness.

Whether thats due to my rate of consumption of the beer, or the hop varieties I use, I don’t know. But it hasn’t been an issue for me.


Watch the video: How to Brew Beer - Citra Double IPA Homebrew Recipe